Holland Hup!

This is what the signs are saying in many shop fronts, with displays of brilliant orange feather boas (something for the lady soccer football supporter), t-shirts, soccer footballs and bunting. Although when they’re following a game in an airport terminal say, in Frankfurt, the Dutch seemed amazingly restrained. Two handclaps and a brief cheer at my airport gate and even that included the Dutch national swimming squad who could be forgiven for sporting zeal.

Already, I am in love with Leiden. So pretty, such a human scale, friendlyand it has a university. The other posters in the street remind us that it is Leiden University’s 435th anniversary this year. It is very difficult to stop myself from parking myself in front the Political Sciences Department until they give me a job. In the meantime I shall content myself with scenery such as this.

1 Comment

  1. mary said,

    June 30, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    oh the bliss – my father was from holland and these photos speak of my fatherland!


Leave a Reply

