Leaving on a jet plane

The suitcase is in the hallway, my carry on luggage is all set and all  I have to do now is call the taxi in 20 mins. And keep myself occupied.

I finished that linen skirt this morning and I’ll set up some shots once I get to Porto. It’s worked out beautifully and will be delightful with the wrap blouses and others.

One of the things to manage over the last few days is saying goodbye to the kids. The lad I knew would be incredibly low-key in that aspie way (he hugged back and smiled sheepishly) while the lass could be rather more demonstrative in a very wet and clingy kind of way. She wasn’t as it turned out – big hugs, extra snuggles yesterday – but no distress. We’ve let them both know that we can skype and text regularly and it’s that which makes such a huge difference. The lad just wanted to make sure that I texted him once I had the soccer jumper with Ronaldo’s number on it.

I enjoyed packing with so many items either hand made or modified by me. There’s nearly all my scarves (tip off from Mum about the weather in Amsterdam), the summer sewing (25- 27C in Porto) and knitting projects for the plane (one for the way over and one for during and the way back).

I’m planning to post photos regularly while I’m way so keep an eye out.

2 Comments

  1. suse said,

    June 21, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Bon voyage!

  2. The Bloke said,

    June 22, 2010 at 11:33 am

    2 knitting projects. For a total of something like 47 hrs travel time. For someone who can’t sleep on a plane.

    So what are you going to do on the way home? ;P


Leave a Reply

