Olá and goede middag

I’m up, up and away in four weeks’ time for my first academic travel overseas in thirteen years. According to my career plan then, it wasn’t supposed to take that long for the second trip to happen.

It’s Oporto in Portugal for six days and then 4 days in The Netherlands. Mostly Leiden I think (hey, I’m not organising that part of the itinerary), though I’m hoping for at least one day in Amsterdam. To whet my appetite and yours, I found these two photos:

I’m sure you can imagine the pretty canals and houses, I just got very excited at the idea of Rembrandt’s birthplace. And this kind of travel is right up my alley: it’s academic, it involves alcohol (Oporto is the home of port), and art history. The fact that it all looks fabulous is just a happy coincidence.

It does mean that I have to finish one or two summer craft project a little sooner than I expected. A chocolate, sage and mustard floral shift is ready to go and there’s a lovely wrap over at Twist Collective that will be divine in a spring green bamboo yarn. A linen skirt, a blouse or two, the creation of 36-hour days, I’ll be ready in no time flat.

5 Comments

  1. kate said,

    May 22, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    So you don’t count that trip to Canada a couple of years ago? To the conference?

    Can you bring me back a bike? And some tulips? Can I indulge in any further stereotyping?

    • frog said,

      May 23, 2010 at 11:41 am

      Oh yeah. I knew I’d used my passport more recently than that. So correction: my first academic travel to Europe in thirteen years.

      I think you need some clogs and real Dutch girl hats. Not just upturned disposable nappies.

  2. mary said,

    May 24, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    Not been to Oporto but suspect gorgeousness – Amsterdam I have been to and found it grey and compelling and a place that grew on me slowly but surely!

  3. suse said,

    June 15, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Academia, alcohol and Portugal.

    My latest work trip involved instant coffee and St Albans.

    • frog said,

      June 15, 2010 at 11:15 am

      I lived in St Albans for awhile. I can’t say I loved going back there for work. This is why one should be an academic and not professional staff. The coffee’s better this side of the fence, I’ve found.


Leave a Reply

