Flowers

Some flowers from Mum and Dad to help cheer me up. And that was before the doozy of an aspie meltdown on Sunday morning.

Things did improve Sunday afternoon – he and a mate (also with a hamburger) – spent time at the Senior Citizen’s Centre for a Warhammer Club. This is their shared ‘special interest’, a hobby of all consuming focus. This had two benefits: he was out of the house and I wasn’t with him. We got together a few hours later and everybody felt a little bit better.

I invited L over for tea, mother of the lad’s friend for tea. Their diagnosis is only a little earlier than ours, much other life crap has happened, and the two of us figure we also have hamburgers.There’s a frankness that happens – apart from having a great deal in common – when two aspie people chat. We don’t have to feel our way around a conversation. I’m not on guard to make sure that what I say is as appropriate, tactful and indirect as might be expected outside of close family.

So between the flowers and the conversation, I did begin to feel better. And these other flowers from the lass are pretty good for looking at, too.

2 Comments

  1. Mary said,

    March 18, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    It is always always such a relief to be able to talk to someone openly and know that they just get it.

    Virtual flowers from me to you…

  2. josoandsew said,

    March 26, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Thank you so much for your comment on my blog (Jo So & Sew)… It’s amazing how supported I feel… I hope it is a joyful day for you…


Leave a Reply

