Happy Place

Just outside Hepburn Springs last autumn.  The light is gentler, the breeze softer, and the air cooler. We’re over summer with its heat, harsh light and dry winds.

I’ve been feeling a little raw and overexposed for the last few weeks. While the school year is good – a new approach to lunches, a better routine, and kids who think school is cool – other things have shown themselves. An assessment of the lad’s dyslexia led to some observations, some reading, some recognition of something that needs to addressed. A 10 year old lad oughn’t be that worried for so much of the time. And just a little later, another observation that rocked us and sent us to the doctor. You see, it’s not his physical health that worries us. It’s his mental health. We won’t receive a firm diagnosis for awhile but we pretty sure of what we’ve seen. I raged and grieved for a couple of days mostly because the Bloke and I know about this thing. It’s part of us, too. I know something of what life might be for the lad, of the consequences of this kind of diagnosis. And I don’t want it for him. At the moment, it doesn’t make it that much easier knowing that early diagnosis makes a big difference. Or that he is in a family so intimately acquainted with this that we know what to look for, the support he needs, that we can help him manage it purposefully and without shame. It just hurts.

Looking at the happy place will do for now.

8 Comments

  1. suse said,

    February 22, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Oh I’m sorry. Sending you strength and grace for the journey.

    • froginthepond said,

      February 22, 2010 at 12:27 pm

      Strength and grace? It’s precisely what I need. Isn’t it peculiar how we know that it needs grace? I think I understand now that strength without grace is obdurate, unbending and usually unhelpful.

      thank you so – just writing it down clarifies it for me. To have support is a bonus.

  2. Mary said,

    February 22, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    I feel so for you – with our own issues in this department we are watching our own 10 year old very hard – too hard? But how can we not?

  3. kate said,

    February 22, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    I’m not sure about my reserves of strength and grace at the moment, but I certainly have lots of auntyish lioness protectiveness going on. And a lot of thinking about how this can be different for the lad than it has been for those of us who grew up back in the olden days. I can totally wave my magic wand and make it so.

    • frog said,

      February 22, 2010 at 9:03 pm

      Wave away, dear friend, wave away!

  4. Tanya said,

    February 26, 2010 at 11:40 am

    I wonder how you are going with all this abit later in the week. I have things in me that are hard, that I see in my children and wonder how to make the path of life easier.
    Thinking of you.

  5. Kate said,

    February 26, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    I’m sorry for the suckage. There’s nothing I can say that will make that part better in any way. But to have caring parents, and parents who understand (REALLY understand), is something that any kid is lucky to get. It’s harder for you, but I daresay it might make it easier for him, even if he might not realise that for a while. And having the inside knowledge that you do hopefully means you’re placed a few steps further along the journey, evne if it won’t feel like that for a while, either.

    Here’s hoping that the next steps are smoother and clamer than this first one. Thinking of only good things for you.

  6. Stomper Girl said,

    March 4, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Well, I’m not at all sure what you’re dealing with but I do wish you strength and grace as Suse says, and I will keep hoping Pollyanna style that the worst never happens. Cx


Leave a Reply

