Hottentot

Which is really Hot and Not but I haven’t been able to get that word out of my head for two weeks. I have house moving brain at the moment so I don’t think this post will win any literature awards but I did want to talk about stuff that’s hottentot for me.

Hot is:

  • moving to a house that isn’t crappily built
  • listening to your husband’s improv band over here at tram sessions
  • ordering one of sooz’s kits from Ink and Spindle. I chose this bag with this fabric to make as a gift.
  • the lad’s response to a question about his favourite part of the school year: “All the support the teachers gave me when we found out I’ve [probably] got dyslexia”.
  • watching the lass make a card to her teacher with the completely unprompted message “Thank you for your support and teaching me. Love always…”
  • picking out the beeswax between your teeth after a colleague brought in honey on the comb for our morning tea crumpets

Not hot is:

  • Moving house while it rains steadily for six hours
  • End of year school carols cancelled due to poor weather
  • Moving house

Play along with loobylu and the rest of us!

7 Comments

  1. kate said,

    December 11, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Totally Hot: Neices and Nephews, rellies moving to non-crappy housing, parties

    Less hot: all the good stuff happening all at the same time

  2. sooz said,

    December 12, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Oh I hope you like the bag kit!! Tell me how it goes 🙂

  3. Stomper Girl said,

    December 13, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Your children sound like they have lovely manners, she says approvingly.

    • froginthepond said,

      December 14, 2009 at 10:14 am

      I’m pleasantly surprised (not by the manners, really) but how they can be so gracious and generous without affectation. It makes me all gooey inside.

  4. Two Tuesdays said,

    December 21, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    What lovely children you have! Well done. I’d definitely be proud of them.

  5. sooz said,

    January 5, 2010 at 11:19 am

    Howdiditgohowdiditgohowdiditgo? Huh?

    • froginthepond said,

      January 5, 2010 at 11:45 am

      Just a teensy bit excited or anxious about that?! It went beautifully; in fact I’m planning a post on it. And my mum absolutely loved it.


Leave a Reply

