Hot and Not

I was wavering on doing one this week and then I read sooz’s blog. Her creative partnership announcement is just so hot, it has to take top billing.

The rain on the weekend (see here) is also pretty damn good. If nothing else, it may help my kids get over their inordinate fear of catastrophic weather events like rain. Or clouds. I was briefly woken on Sunday morning by the lass asking, ‘I saw a big puddle outside. Will there be a flood?’.

The lass and I had huge amounts of fun at ‘The Way We Wear‘ fair at Williamstown Town Hall. I scored two vintage sewing patterns from ‘Madame Weigel’ who was based in Lennox St, Richmond (here in Melbourne). They’re both 50s dresses and one of the comes in my bust size which is so nice. I picked up two copies of a Dutch sewing magazine ‘Marion’ which I think was a promotional booklet for their season’s sewing patterns. They also included patterns for three of the styles in each issue. I’ll have to do a separate post to do this outing justice, especially the lass’ growing appreciation for vintage fashion and the fact that she scored Dorothy shoes in her size within five minutes of entering the hall.

The not hot stuff is rather little: my little toe which I re-broke two weeks ago. An x-ray this morning seems to show the toe and some bones around it look rather ‘interesting’. I don’t think ‘x-ray’ and ‘interesting’ used together in the same sentence bodes well.

3 Comments

  1. Claire said,

    November 26, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Sooz’s partnership is indeed hot! And so is the rain… even if it fells trees as it moves through. Our kids are terrified of the rain too. Thanks for playing even when you were tempted not to 🙂 xx

  2. Tara Lee said,

    November 27, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Hi I can’t wait to have a peek at your new Dutch magazines! Sounds fun.

  3. kylie said,

    November 27, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    LOL, my daughter (11yo) commented ‘why are we having rain it’s spring for goodness sake’ and I mentioned that this is actually normal and that we hadnt had rain like this since she was she was born. Sending mending thoughts to your toe! Thank you for your comment a meaningful non commercial Christmas is what I’m striving for too.


Leave a Reply

