Zero gravity

It’s not often I travel alone. Last night, I tried to count how many times I’ve done that in the last ten years (since the first kid) and I struggled up to three.  There hasn’t been a great deal of business travel in my life.

This trip’s a bit of a doozy: three days in Perth, three hour time difference and a four hour flight. In the middle of the flight I was aware of that standing still while moving forward feeling. Travelling without external encumbrance. Travelling without weight of others, shared itineraries, shared responsibilities.

I find that tremendously freeing. I didn’t previously: I suffered terribly from homesickness and I remember more than one wailing phone call from a hostel to home. But now I can write freely on the plane, making notes for an upcoming conference. I started sketching too and that was a complete surprise.

So the next three days are completely my own. I am planning a little exploration of Perth, finding a little cafe or two or a retro or indie shop.

That will be the toughest assignment of the trip. At the moment, Perth strikes me as Canberra trying to do a little of the Gold Coast.

And twelve hours in I am bloody desperate for a decent cup of coffee.

1 Comment

  1. Stomper Girl said,

    October 20, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    You made me laugh with your Perth assessment. Everyone told us to go to Fremantle to get the best coffee/food, but that was 10 years ago.


Leave a Reply

