What’s hot & what’s not

This kicked off at loobylu and I thought I’d join in. Helps me focus on the ‘hot’ stuff rather than just feel miserable at the ‘not hot’ stuff.

What’s hot:

  • Lancefield Op Shop. I know I mentioned it last week but it’s still hot because I’m already thinking about my next raid. And what’s not to love about 70s owl curtains?
  • The Hobbit. The lad has discovered this after plenty of encouragement from us. Every now and then he asks me to read a few pages to him so we cuddle up on the couch, grab a blanket, and read away.
  • Print your own fabric transfers. The lass is planning to brighten up a t-shirt or two this weekend. I think I’ll scan one of her drawings and print that out on transfer paper as well.

Really not hot:

  • Moving house. It’s crap.
  • Gas companies that forget you’re a customer and bill you once a year. Did it last year and they’ve done it again this year. I”d rather not have to spend time reading the energy retailer’s code of conduct.
  • University travel forms and policies. Labrynthine and kafkaesque at the same time.
3 Comments

  1. innercitygarden said,

    October 7, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    Also Hot: The BFG

    So Not Hot: Toddlers

    Bloke has mentioned somebody did this to him once, he insisted that they accept payment over a period the same length as the billing period. That is, if they take a year to send you the bill, you can take a year to pay it off (in installments). Worth a try.

    Also there’s the Primus Response (they forgot to send me bills and then cut me off for not paying them and wanted to charge me approx. $1million to get phone on again) they asked why I hadn’t noticed not receiving any bills, so I tried patiently explaining that I Had Better Things To Do and then burst into tears told them my sister was dying and they were Making It Worse. I just wish I’d lost it and cried several very long phone calls earlier. Your sister isn’t dying, but I suggest you lie and sob anyway.

  2. Claire said,

    October 8, 2009 at 7:46 am

    The Hobbit! Awesome – I hadn’t thought to read this to Amelia yet, but what a good idea! She is finding Voldemort in HP scary so maybe the Hobbit will still be a bit old for her.

  3. froginthepond said,

    October 8, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Happily, the code of conduct does endorse the idea that if the company stuffed up for say, 9 months, the customer gets 9 months to pay the bill. After the stuff around with the car insurance I’m feeling far less tolerant towards incompetent companies. And I’ve really honed my pissed off phone voice.

    Claire – I think you could try out The Hobbit on Amelia. There’s nothing nearly as scary as Voldemort. Also the child-like size of Bilbo really seems to make a difference to the way my kids respond to the story. If Bilbo can get through the adventure, then perhaps it’s not too scary after all.


Leave a Reply

