The bird thing

I mentioned before there was a bird thing happening. Having had the first bird thing rejected as insufficiently pink, I had another go.

BirdSampler

After close consultation with the client, I was allowed to use pale blue on the birds and shades of pink for the flowers. My suggestion of different shades of green for the leaves was accepted without demur (which surprised me).

BirdSamplerDetail1

BirdSamplerDetail2

The cloth doesn’t quite fit the hoop because I don’t use one when I’m sewing. I just find it fiddly what with all that turning around of the design and what not. Now that it’s hemmed it’s not quite wide enough but the client doesn’t seem to mind.

You can find the pattern at Badbird’s blog, here. Also check out loobylu, where some Starry Serenade pieces are on show. Yes, that is an entirely self-centred plug!

2 Comments

  1. innercitygarden said,

    September 16, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Noice. Still can’t believe the first one was rejected though, maybe it’ll be reclaimed later.

  2. Michele said,

    October 21, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Your bird thing is really lovely work. Chele


Leave a Reply

