Father’s Day a.k.a Bump out

In the ten years I’ve had kids I’ve never reliably remembered when Father’s Day falls. I don’t remember Mother’s Day either, so at least I’m not biased. In the month prior, the kids will come home with a card or present made at school and urgently whisper the secret in my ear. The fact they usually tell me this when their dad isn’t home doesn’t obviate the need for either urgency or whispering.

Loud ads that keep telling me about a date in September don’t help either. I don’t know anything about dates; I just know that the week after next the lad has a music soiree or that the next weekend we’re going to my mob’s place for dinner.

It falls into place ten days beforehand when the Bloke reminds me he’s doing Johnno’s show next week. Aha! Johnno is a friend of a friend and directs a high school production. The mutual friend and others do audio, lighting, special effects etc. It requires ‘bumping in’ (bringing all the technical stuff in) and ‘bump out’ means taking it all down and out. Johnno’s show is always the first full week of September.

So the last Sunday of Johnno’s show will be bump out, which means it’s Father’s Day!

In case you’re interested, it was pancakes with maple syrup.

1 Comment

  1. kate said,

    September 6, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    It was vegemite on Red Beard bread here, the eggs and bacon happened on Saturday with the house guest.

    Lots of card making first thing in the morning here (where’s my present? when is my birthday? it’s my birthday today you make a card for me Muuum), a quick trip to the bottle shop on the way to Melbourne for my Dad and the father out law. Bress Shiraz is very nice FYI.


Leave a Reply

