Another gadget

Almost as life changing as the pressure cooker (used nearly daily since it took up residence). The gardener and I went halves in an overlocker a little while ago and I’ve finally had the time to make use of it.

Overlocker From Above

All those knits and jerseys I’ve stashed – at last, they realised their purpose! Some pj’s for the lass and a fetching velour top; and plans for other tops and jackets. It sews like a dream and it’s so much fun. It’s not at all difficult to get the hang of it and I had a little guide book as a reference. Re-threading is tiresome the first time you do it but it’s not the drama I’d been led to believe.

The only trouble is that I haven’t found any shops in Australia that sell quality children’s knits, terry and jersey. Crafty Mama’s do but their stock clearly flies out quickly and doesn’t have the range I’m after. So I’m waiting for an order of fabric that should produce a hooded jacket for the lad and complementary long sleeve top, a crossover top for the lass, a hooded top and a long sleeve t-shirt. In the meantime, there is a particularly luscious plum jersey to be made up into a 1950s wrap-waisted top, knight’s costumes, and probably pj’s for the neice and nephew.

I have pieces of orange velour and chocolate velour which were intended as a jacket for the lad a year ago. Unsurprisingly, he’s not keen on the colours now. I love them but not entirely sure I can pull off velour – it’s seems to be a kid’s texture. I’m sure my infatuation with the overlocker will help me arrive at a solution.

2 Comments

  1. kate said,

    June 10, 2009 at 10:26 am

    The instant gratification of the overlocker is fun isn’t it?

    Also the feeling of having entered a secret society…

  2. froginthepond said,

    June 10, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Yes! The Overlocker’s Secret Society. What a bunch of tossers!


Leave a Reply

