Buttons galore

A few weeks back, I came across an announcement for a by-the-kilo button sale at Buttonmania. I nipped down to the Nicholas Building in Swanston St, a beautiful European warren of artist’s studios and indie retailers. On sale? A roomful of Brazilian, depression-era buttons. I swooned.

But recovered quickly so I didn’t miss out on choice picks.

groupedbuttons

I bought in sets – between four and twelve – depending on size and gorgeousness. There are two sets I haven’t photographed yet but they were special enough to be separately packaged. There were four tables’ worth of buttons in trays and a large dish dedicated to the special ones. All up, it cost me $14.

And completely unrelated, this is the finished Asymmetry:

finishedasymmetriclace

It’s so comfortable and the linen is already softening with wear. It drapes as easily as I hoped and it’s perfect for hot day with a cotton cami underneath. I’m wearing a brown wool cami because it wasn’t hot last evening and you can see the detail better against a dark background. Thanks to the lad for his fashion photography.

2 Comments

  1. kate said,

    March 21, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Those are excellent! I *love* buttons!

  2. Stomper Girl said,

    March 23, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Pretty!


Leave a Reply

