Fashion jamming

In an unexplained fit of excitement I put my hand up to host a stall at the kids’ school fair. The theme this year is ‘reduce, reuse and recycle’ so I’m going to sell stuff that I’ve made from vintage fabric or repurposed clothes. I also mentioned fashion jamming. Apparently when the fair coordinator read this, she started squealing and had to be provided with mild sedation.

Fashion jamming is refashioning or repurposing clothes – the Craft Cartel in Melbourne staged one last weekend at Fed Square. I figure kids love doing stuff to their clothes, given half a chance, so I’m going to put on two demos during the day. One will be for Cycle 1 (3-6 yrs) and the other for Cycles 2 and 3 (7-12 yrs).  It needs to be simple and still fun for the little kids so fabric paints in the forms of textas or pastels will be the way to go. For the older kids, I’d like to show them photo transfers, sewing accessories, cutting, re-modeling, templates for patches and reverse applique, what to look for in the op shop, that kind of thing. Tip sheets to take away at the end of the demo seem like a good idea.

Once I had the photo transfer idea, I started playing around with some of my images and this is what I came up with. This is the original shot:

sunrisesilhouette

This image was a tree silhouette at sunrise. Using an online photo editor, I inverted the image so the black branches became white and then chose different colour rotations to get the background colours.

whiteaquabranchsilhouette1whiteorangebranchsilhouette1whitepinkbranchsilhouette1

Then I played around with the fluoro options:

fluropinkgreenbranchsilhouetteblueyellowbranchsilhouette

brownbluebranchsilhouette

And you can do nightvision as well:

nightvisiontreesilhouette

Some of the items I’ll be selling are my own photo transfers; neck pads for guitar and saxophone straps (old t-shirts, quilt batting and velcro); reading cushions from soft, old denim; wristlet bags; simple totes; and fashion jamming kits for the kids – little packets of choose your own template, fusible interfacing, and choose your own remnant fabric; and pick your own buttons and embroidery threads. If you have any ideas you’d like to share, do tell!

2 Comments

  1. kate said,

    February 28, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Frog, I would like to say You’re Welcome for the snow photos! And also, Thank YOU- your photos of all things green and warm are so hopeful through the months of chilly weather here! (I love the sunset branches and the way you played with the color, etc. Looks really cool!)
    Good luck and Best wishes with your fashion jamming and the school fair! Sounds like a blast!

  2. SD said,

    March 18, 2009 at 7:06 am

    I love what you’ve done to the branch pictures. I’m drawn to taking tree and plant photos on my travels. When we get our new camera (old one broke), I’ll know where to send these pics!


Leave a Reply

