Line and form

I’ve had any number of conversations with the Bloke about about modern art over quite a few years. We like it but we like different bits of it. Forget politics, religion, parenting, house moves, family issues – our biggest argument ever was over modern art (it really did involve raised voices and temporarily hurt feelings). Further discussions have refined our differences. I like line and form, the Bloke prefers colour and movement. It also crosses over into other forms of creative art. I’ve learned to appreciate free jazz and improv but it’s not something I always love or enjoy. The Bloke revels in performances where the musicians have not so much lost the music but never had it in the first place.

1950sblouse

The same goes for textiles and garments. I love this blouse; I’ve had my eye on it at Pattern Retrospective for over six months. I love that it is so clearly constructed, that it’s lines are clear and traceable. I love that the clarity of line will be subtly counterpointed by the curves underneath.

It explains my love affair with the Art Deco period. Line is its defining element, drawing you in and around each garment, artifact and building. But don’t tell the Bloke this. Because the one thing we agree on is that we want Frank Lloyd Wright to design a house for us.

4 Comments

  1. kate said,

    February 6, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    In sickness and in health, but not at the art gallery?

    I’m glad I brought a lounge suite to the relationship. Can you imagine how painful it would be if we had to go shopping choose one? The style? The price? Oh my.

    Now we just need to find other furniture that goes with the lounge.

  2. Mini Manc said,

    February 7, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    Have you not seen the Coupling episode about couch choosing?

  3. froginthepond said,

    February 8, 2009 at 9:20 am

    Oh, god, yes. Michael is still undecided about stripes. I don’t know how we’ve managed to furnish a house.

  4. kate said,

    February 9, 2009 at 10:02 am

    We will have to get the loungesuite recovered at some point. Dare I suggest stripes? I’ve tried to explain that a bloke’s job in these matters (ie. when I feel like redecorating) is to say “whatever you like dear”. My Dad stretched it to “so long as it’s not yellow”.


Leave a Reply

