Birthday love

I received this sewing tote from innercitygarden and her family on the weekend and how gorgeously simple it is!

sewingtote

The interior is divided into 4 compartments which will nicely fit a pattern, fabric and various notions. It was love at first sight. The contribution to the studio makeover was also delightfully received. I think the studio will need an ironing board…maybe some op shop love…

I’ve had quite a textile birthday – the Bloke gave me a book on French Art Deco textiles which is simply beautiful and enchanting. By a marvellous piece of serendipity, I found Donna Flower, who is based in the UK and spends time at French flea markets and auctions buying up vintage textiles. Just as marvellously, my sister and her family had given me some birthday money so that this arrived a few days ago:

frenchdecoroses

frenchdecorosedetail

French, Art Deco, 1930s. Happy, happy.

4 Comments

  1. kate said,

    February 5, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Glad you like it. Does it have stuff in it yet?

  2. froginthepond said,

    February 5, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Not yet. Well, it has the studio money in it. But of course, I’ve started thinking about hand sewing now that I have a tote. Sigh.

  3. Casey said,

    February 5, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    Ooh – such lovely fabric! 30’s Art deco and French to boot! Any ideas on what it will become yet?

    Thank you for commenting on my blog! I’ll be stopping by again.

  4. froginthepond said,

    February 6, 2009 at 7:32 am

    I’ll save a portion of the fabric for my (small) textiles collection. The rest – not sure yet. A bag is obvious but I’d like to be sure I’ll do the design justice.


Leave a Reply

