February

This is how Melbourne felt last week.

wilted1

It’s a challenge to photograph during such a devestating heat wave because it only seems to mean destruction (of one kind or another) or unbearable discomfort. I’ve been trying to choose a word for One Word Project for the month of February. I was going to take ‘aperture’ both in its technical and dictionary sense but I’ve discarded that – I might save it for March.

Instead, I’ve chosen February. It seems to be a challenging month all round when it comes to weather. Northern and southern hemisphere bloggers are finding it tough getting through the month and trying to come up with ‘work arounds’. This one is mine – photographing February in all its glory and trial.

2 Comments

  1. kate said,

    February 4, 2009 at 3:29 am

    Hi Frog (can I call you that?)
    Thanks for your comments at my place. It’s nice to know that my kids aren’t the only ones out there who have started mind games at this young age!
    Sorry to read about your poor plant! I can only imagine how you must feel in that heat! We’ve had our own “heat wave” here in Calgary. It’s nothing like yours, though! Normally we have much colder weather right now (at least 5 below 0), but this week we’ll be getting highs of 10 degrees (Celsius).
    Several months before I get to worry about the garden. (sigh)
    I like your blog (added it to my reader).
    Take care, try to stay cool!
    ~OM

  2. froginthepond said,

    February 4, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Certainly call me frog!

    It’s very disorienting to get extremes of weather. I feel as though I ought to cope with it but really, 45 degrees is too much for a Melbourne summer.

    And ten degrees is quite warm compared to 5 below; though it would be thought a very cold day in Melbourne. Let’s hope for ‘normal’ weather all round.


Leave a Reply

