Recent sewing

I’ve been doing a bit of sewing recently and almost all has been free form. No pattern, just tracing around an existing skirt or going back to basics and joing rectangles together. It’s very soothing and by no coincidence, very different from technical pattern modifications and development I’ve been doing with my knitting.

This dress was for my niece and makes a lovely sundress (there’ll be one for my lass soon):

freeformdress1

freeformdress2

And this is the traced out skirt with a hem of vintage barkcloth:

img_1777

I particularly like the muted sage green and it makes an effective accent.

With the long weekend coming up, I need to decide which sewing project to tackle. I’ve cut out my 1940s housedress so there’s an obvious start; I may have time to make the lass’ sundress as well.

Leave a Reply

