I own a staple gun

And that’s something that’ll scare the bejeesus out of anyone who’s seen me action. Actually, I do burns with a sideline in broken extremities; Mum does cuts; and both kids do amazing bruises. Everyone has their own specialty.

The staple gun is part of a plan, a plan so cunning you could put a tail on it and call it a weasel. With my birthday money, and materials on hand, I’m going to do up my studio. It’s really a storage room at the moment since I can’t work in it yet (the possum chewed through the connecting cable) but I have set up some bookshelves and a dresser to hold fabric, patterns and odds and sods.

There’s been plenty written and wished for in blogland about studios and the one that resonated with me was Yummy Goods. Simple, effective and arranged in a way that I really found entrancing. She describes how she found herself arranging things by colour and suddenly it clicked for me. I’m going to keep yarn and fabric together in the dresser by colour which also doubles as textural contrast. Each drawer or cupboard of the dresser (which is white) I’ll paint in an appropriate colour. The ugly brown vinyl woodgrain bookshelf will be somehow transformed into a white bookshelf. My books, patterns, notions will be sorted into colour/style/period with elements for display. I’ve already purchased a large corkboard for my inspirations wall and I have small pieces of MDF that I will make into corkboards for particular projects. I picked up some cheap roman blinds from Ikea last year that I plan to stencil before I hang them up.

We have a tall bench that I salvaged from a neighbour a few months ago that is grotty but transformable. I’d like to replace the table top, resand and paint the legs and utilise the space underneath for storage. I can see it in my head now and all (!) I have to do is go ahead and do it.

This is going to be a lot of fun – I’ll keep you updated with pictures. These are the official before shots:

The Dresser

The Dresser

Why I Need A Makeover

Why I Need A Makeover

3 Comments

  1. kate said,

    January 14, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    I’ve been dividing notions and stationery up into little containers. I’m a bit scared of doing up the stuff in the studio in lieu of studio output. But organising the studio is essential.

    Incientally, there is a product you can paint onto the faux wood to prepare it for painting white. Can’t remember what it’s called, but I used it on my coffee table (it was a leftover from Mum painting it all over the old kitchen faux wood panelling).

  2. January 14, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    I thought there had to be something around that would get rid of faux wood. I’m reminded of what the lad said at Bunnings as he approached the floor coverings on a roll section:

    “Hey, how do they roll up…. (tone of betrayed horror)…people cheat?!!”

    It was the timber-look lino.

  3. kate said,

    January 14, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Such an innocent little flower. So easily dissappointed in people.

    I hate to think how disappointed he’ll be when he finds out how governments operate.


Leave a Reply

