What would happen if….?

Which is pretty much why I signed up for Wardrobe Refashion for six months. Wardrobe refashioning is about using what you have (fabric or yarn stashes, garments you no longer wear) or what others have discarded (op shops) to create something new. It’s not about being a fashion designer, or a postmodern Scrooge. It’s about mindfulness: can I reuse rather than throw out, do I really need to buy this garment, can I make something that is unique? I already do the making something new thing, so why not take up the challenge to recycle? So by signing up, I’m committing to six months of making my own garments from ‘raw’ materials (yarn, fabric) or recycling op shopped (‘thrifted’) garments/items. There’s a get out of jail free card but I’m really hoping that I won’t need it. Shoes and underwear are excluded (for the benefit of mum, who may read this!).

I sew and knit a lot, for me and the kids. My bloke gets a look in once a decade but I have good intentions on improving that strike rate (if he weren’t so bloody tall..). I like to play around with patterns and ideas but I don’t necessarily translate them into garments or artifacts. I can be a little risk averse and the idea of working from my stash or op shop stuff is what I need to try out new designs, colours and pattern combinations. And I really will have to use those kimono scraps and pieces of vintage fabric that were bought to be used.

I’ve started off well by making a pair of shorts and a t-shirt (miss tadpole) and a long skirt for myself (stash fabric with a vintage fabric detail). I’ll sew up a knitted top tonight, I’ve cast on for another summer top (me, stash yarn) and a pair of socks (miss tadpole, again with the stash yarn). I don’t usually keep a tally of what I make so it’ll be interesting to see how much I get done over the next six months. And slightly embarassing since I don’t expect to run out of stash yarn or fabric.

The project fits in with my decision to schedule time for sewing. Instead of seeing if I have time on the weekend, I’ll make sure I have the time. Sunday morning is looking good, since we’re fairly slow then and everyone tends to move at their own pace. I’ll have to adjust my expectations about how much sewing I get done. I prefer to work from scratch to finish in the one day and this really isn’t going to be the norm. If I don’t think I’ll get a complete garment in one session I think I shall do packages of work, like pattern tracing and cutting a group of garments and setting up for the next weekend. Knitting is taken care of – 10 hours a week on the train gets a lot of stuff done.

And best of all – I can be a complete refashionista and use all those vintage patterns I have!

2 Comments

  1. Simone said,

    January 13, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Good luck with the refashioning. I haven’t signed up yet. I’ll watch what you’re doing for inspiration. Do you live in the country like me and commute? I live in central vic and travel to Melb for work.

    Simone

    • froginthepond said,

      January 14, 2009 at 7:02 am

      I’m in the outer north east – just a few stops from the end of the line. The refashioning will be fun – I’ve got some pillowcases that might end up as summer tops. We’ll see!


Leave a Reply

