Starting off

I’ve been trying to shake off the feeling that the first day of a new year should begin as you mean to carry on. Theoretically, I’m all for symbols and meanings but I sometimes fall down on the implementation. So I did finish off some things but I didn’t sew the skirt I intended. Something to do with reading until 3am snuffs out the ability to think logically and concentrate the next day.

I did a few things that had some significance. I finished off some minor sewing tasks that have been lying around and needing attention. I turned a pinafore into a skirt for Miss Tadpole and a pair of trousers into shorts for Master Tadpole. I made a new pair of shorts for Miss Tadpole and cast on for a 1920s styled top for myself. I’m going to go through my fabric and yarn stash over the weekend and actually write down what I’ve got and what I think I’ll do with it. There are some fab garments waiting to be made and I want to get into it. Scheduling sewing time will be a priority this year – and in doing so, it makes me be a little a lot more disciplined about attending to other things so that I actually have sewing time.

I’m hoping to write up some patterns or notes over this year so that I can share them here or even (gasp!) get them published somewhere. I don’t go in for resolutions since I’m not a list person and if I try to be one, I get very picky about writing everything down. And once it’s written it’s permanent and can’t be got rid of and then when life intervenes and I don’t get everything done on the list, I feel this cold sense of failure and disappointment. So I don’t write that stuff down anymore. It’s easier to change things in my head, especially since I stopped justifying changes to myself. As Granny Weatherwax knows, this is all about headology.

So here’s to a year of balance and mindfulness, of holding on to what matters and letting go of what doesn’t, of courage and kindness.

3 Comments

  1. Stomper Girl said,

    January 1, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    You know that saying about what you do on New Year’s Day is an indication of the year to come? Sounds like your day and your hopes for what you’ll achieve next year are in good alignment. (I’m sure I could have expressed that more elegantly but I’m heading of to beddie-byes) All the best for 2009.

  2. dancingwithfrogs said,

    January 4, 2009 at 9:07 am

    Scheduled sewing time.

    Good idea. I have so much I want to do and so little time. It drives me crazy!

  3. January 8, 2009 at 12:59 am

    Not really on topic I’m afraid, but I wanted to update on a comment you made on my blog a while ago.

    Those plums you said looked identical to your own tree? I finally got enough out of the second batch to make into a soup and it was magnificent. If you still have any I recommend trying it.


Leave a Reply

