WIP update

I realised at a ridiculous hour of the morning (while I was knitting without wearing my glasses because that helps me go back to sleep) that I hadn’t talked about any of the actual sewing and knitting stuff I’m doing at the moment. Plenty of patterns and op shop stuff (but wait, there’s more!) but not the actual making thereof.

I’m working on the trouser pattern. I went ahead after the muslin to make up the trousers in linen but somehow got them far too big. I’ve since unpicked, reworked the muslin a little bit and I’m about to recut the linen. In the middle of that, innercitygarden displayed commendable faith and accepted my offer of a how-to on trouser pattern drafting last Saturday. I definitely think going from muslin to wearing-around-the-house pants is a more productive trajectory than muslin to really-nice-Italian-linen-workpants. Still, they’ll turn out fine and I’m looking forward to wearing them by next weekend.

I discovered that I had a few more skeins of Elspeth Lavold’s Silky Wool in teal than I first thought. So I’m knitting this vintage top (scroll down to ‘lacy top’) with a slight different lace pattern. I’ve resized to fit, of course, but I’m going with the figure-hugging style. I reckon it should look okay with the linen trousers.

There was the tote as a present for a friend:

Chinese silk tote

Chinese silk tote

On the more mundane side, I’ve altered a skirt so that it no longer falls down (I’m picky like that) and I have a padded sleeve for a neck strap to finish. Master Tadpole is finding the alto sax and electric guitar heavy going on the neck so I’ve fashioned six layers of quilt batting covered by an old t-shirt formerly belonging to the tadpole. Velcro straps will make sure it can go from one instrument to the other. And by the way, he has completely appropriated my old music stand. I managed to defend it from the acquisitiveness of a professional muso for fifteen years and within three months of taking up an instrument, it now belongs a 9 yo rocker.

I’ll probably be able to rescue two non-finished trousers with my personal pattern which does increase the production output with remarkably little effort. Then I can move onto all those other things I want to make. Like 3 blouses, 2 dresses, 1 skirt, 3 hawaiian shirts (not for me), 6 t-shirts (the tadpoles), 2 skirts, 3 dresses, 2 shorts, 1 trouser (miss tadpole), 1 dress, 1 skirt (the little person in Sydney)…

I keep hearing this voice in my head.

“Tell her she’s dreamin'”.

Leave a Reply

