Sounds of Sunday morning

Just as I started to write this little follow-up piece on the gentle sounds of home and Sunday, the lassie tadpole started up the battery powered race track. Never let it be said that she doesn’t have a good sense of timing.

Anyway, as I was reading blogs and knitting, in the early morn (before 10am) I noticed just how different the sounds were. There was no crashing surf, no conversations in German or English, or the baleful sounds of cows in the next paddock. I was back home to many, many birds including a newly-resident family of king parrots. The occasional sounds of the lad tadpole back and forth in the kitchen look for something to eat; the lassie tadpole singing to herself; discussion between the tadpoles about a movie theme – she had the right key and melody but he pointed out that she need change the timing (I love those little conversations because I play the flute and prove the point that one can play that instrument without a singing voice or any decent sense of timing).

Because it is early morn I can’t hear my Bloke yet.

2 Comments

  1. kate said,

    November 9, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Has anyone pointed out your eyelids to you yet? That’s one of the first things the lad did for me this morning. T’was such a relief that I hadn’t lost them in my sleep.

  2. froginthepond said,

    November 9, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    I haven’t had them pointed out to me in a while; though I wouldn’t be surprised if your lad does that next time he sleeps over. My tadpoles are more observant now they’re older – they point out the freckles on my face that I’ve had for 30-odd years.


Leave a Reply

