Post-camp musings

I’m still feeling stymied by my lack of photo editing and compression software combined with a stack of photos to share. I’ll put up a couple now but I am mindful of downloading large photos.

The camp / writing retreat was a rare and precious privilege. The ability to simply focus on one matter for a sustained period of time is gorgeous. Problems of understanding, interpretation and application have resolved themselves (at  least for the next few weeks!) and I even managed to write up an outline of my postdoc project. I have a clearer perspective on  managing my priorities and publishing schedule. It’s still a lot of work to do but knowing how to handle it and what my priorities need to be feels good.

The setting was beautiful even if the weather did not always cooperate. The beach is great – a surf beach that can get rather rough – but wide white sand, rock pools and lots of scope for walking and looking. Once I have my photo compression iss-ewes sorted I’ll put together a gallery for you.

By the way, the ‘race day flair’ wedding went well, as did my chosen outfit. A mauve silk dupion straight skirt with a kick-out flare and a 1936 butterfly wing blouse in a large floral print cotton voile, mostly butter yellow, oranges, some red, a little green and just a peek of mauve.

In the meantime, just a couple of shots for you.

Breaking waves

Breaking waves

The Schoolhouse

The Schoolhouse

Random pebbles

Random pebbles

Common Room and Fire Pit

Common Room and Fire Pit

4 Comments

  1. kate said,

    November 9, 2008 at 9:03 am

    I’m sure there were distractions available there. I certainly would have found them.

    The hitching was good. Did you have your camera there? I remembered ours as we were getting in the Hummer and got told we didnt’ need it, which, while strictly true, wasn’t much fun.

  2. froginthepond said,

    November 9, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    I’d taken the card out of ours to transfer photos to the laptop. And didn’t put it back in. I saw some photos of the hitchin’. Not bad. At least there’s one of my outfit.

  3. kate said,

    November 9, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    Oh yeah, I’d forgotten that.

    How many times do I have to mention Hummer before you come up on searches?

  4. froginthepond said,

    November 10, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Quite a few times, it would seem. I am (that is, the blog) is open to searches.


Leave a Reply

