Racing trains

A lot of my knitting (very occasionally, crochet) happens on the train. My travel time is roughly one hour and it’s amazing how much can be done. A child’s jumper can be knit in 3 weeks, except where said child is going through yet another growth spurt and adding 2-3 centimeters in a month. That adds at least another week what with frogging the shoulder shaping or sleeve cap to accommodate the extra height. An adult’s jumper is maybe 5-6 weeks and that depends on whether the garment be knit requires needles that are about 80cm long. I don’t use them on the train so you’re looking at extra time for that one (that counts as a hint, sis).

The most exciting thing about train knitting is racing the train. How many rows in this trip? Will I get this section done? Bloody hell, I need to finish this row before my train arrives at the station… Yes, I am competing with myself but it does keep me awake and it’s really good for my speed knitting. Juggling patterns on my lap does get interesting and I have thought of something like a lap mat that would prevent this but I think that’s getting dangerously close to trainspotting behaviour. It’s kind of easier to just memorise the pattern.

With my new job, I’ve added a short tram trip which has added to excitement. It’s also a really good little clock because I can tell whether I’m going to miss my train by how much I’ve been able to knit. Being able to knit an entire row of a top-down cardigan on 3mm needles (approx. 300 sts) is a really good sign you’re not going to make the 4.35 train.

3 Comments

  1. kate said,

    September 17, 2008 at 12:30 am

    the only down side of the walk to work is the lack of knitting time. I do get my exercise though…

  2. The Bloke said,

    September 17, 2008 at 4:56 am

    Yep, I catch that tram, too. However, I can tell if I’ve missed the train by seeing how many pages I’ve read, before the station, in a standard sized William Gibson paperback. More than 2 plot points and there goes Mr Choo Choo.

  3. Mini Manc said,

    September 22, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    I miss trams, except when I’m trying to sleep in Milan, and from 4 floors up it still sounds like they’re coming in the window.


Leave a Reply

