The reflections of an auteur OR why the hell am I doing this?

Two pieces in and I’m beginning to understand why I felt the need to blog. It’s not like there aren’t enough out there. I think that I’d like to bring together in a conversation the life and craft ideas I have going on in my head and the thoughts, comments and ideas prompted when I read other blogs, and my craft life.

And if I get them out of my head and onto paper, then there’s more room for other stuff.

I really enjoyed the Harry Potter series (except for the fourth one I think, where my internal editor wanted to put a fat green line through whole chapters and write in the margin, why is this here?). And what I really wanted was Dumbledore’s Pensieve*. Somewhere to put thoughts aside for reflection. So this might be a pensieve for ideas about creativity, life and craft.

*And Honeydukes’ chocolate. And Butterbeer, which seemed like alcoholic, liquid butterscotch. If it isn’t that, I don’t want to know about it. Seriously.

3 Comments

  1. Ali Wilson said,

    September 10, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Personally I liked the idea of chocolate frogs you have to catch, exercise and chocolate – it’s a win-win situation.

  2. kate said,

    September 10, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    That’s exactly what a blog is for. (That and having a place to put the photos of the laundry, because not even one’s mother will look at those and pretend to be interested).

    And I think you need to exchange “being” for “bring” in your third sentence. Not good to mention your inner editor shortly after a typo.

  3. froginthepond said,

    September 10, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    So edited.

    And I knew there was something about the chocolate frogs… I swear Honeydukes is better than afternoon tea at the Magic Faraway Tree.


Leave a Reply

