I have sock mojo!

Sock mojo

Sock mojo

This was how a significant part of August was spent: socks and remotes. Courtesy of a partially torn foot ligament and the Olympics, I knitted:

  • a long pair of socks for me;
  • two pairs for my lass;
  • a pair for my neice; and
  • one sock for my lad (I ran out of wool).

In one month. That’s more socks than I’ve ever produced in my knitting career.

I’m not fond of the long socks since they’re too loose to stay up but they are the socks where it finally clicked. I got why heels are constructed that way; I got gussets, insteps and stitch placement. I can see socks inside my head now, where to turn and a heel, gussets, length and all the rest. So now I can produce socks from pattern notes that look like this:

A foot on the back of an envelope

A foot on the back of an envelope

And after all that construction and engineering, I found Cat Bordhi’s article on simple sock construction in Twist Collective’s first issue.

C’est la vie.

But I still got sock mojo.

5 Comments

  1. kate said,

    September 9, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Yay! You’re a real person with a web presence!

    The Bloke says: do you want cheap hosting? He knows a Bloke that could arrange that.

  2. froginthepond said,

    September 9, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Tell the Bloke: yes!

  3. Confused said,

    September 10, 2008 at 12:23 am

    Does that make me The Friend’s Bloke’s Brother?

  4. Ali Wilson said,

    September 10, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    You legend you! But where are my socks? Oh and Ashleigh would like some purple ones please.

  5. froginthepond said,

    September 10, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Make a pair of socks and suddenly everyone wants some…Ali gets socks when I get her foot measurements and Ashleigh gets purple ones when I find some nice purple sock wool. Oh bother, I shall have to search my favourite online yarn stores. The things I have to do.


Leave a Reply

