When is a UFO a WIP?

The yay-ness factor of terminating the UFOs diminished slightly when I discovered that the sleeves for my Red Oak jacket were at least two sizes too small.

But I faltered only slightly before ripping them out and starting over.

I have finished all the turned up hems, finished the edges of the jacket and given thought to closures. I think I’ll go for hidden hook and eyes rather than the duffle coat look. All in all, not too bad.

It does make me wonder the tipping point between UFO and WIP. Looking through my projects on Ravelry I’m thinking it’s 85%. Before that you’re still likely to be working through sleeves and what not; after that I think you’re contemplating all the seaming which is where I can stop. It’s not intentional, it’s just one of those things where I wait until the weekend because seaming on public transport is not recommended.

So of dozen UFOs I uncovered, perhaps I can shift two or three to the WIP pile. It makes me feel a little better.

1 Comment

  1. Tania said,

    March 28, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    I love a diminishing UFO Yayness Factor. Sadly, these are few and far between in my neck of the woods…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

